Activision doesn’t like my Athlon XP CPU

athlon_xp_werbung

I got Call of Duty 4 from a colleague for free some time ago (he didn’t play it anymore so he gave it to me). I installed it but it crashed… OK. Now that Call of Duty 5 is nearly out (and I downloaded the Beta) I gave COD4 another chance. I installed all patches up to 1.7, but still the game crashed on startup.

Now guess what? I just had to delete a little fucking file (mssmp3.asi) and it runs perfectly on my Athlon XP 2600+ ATI X850 ! Bahhh! I’m really angry… Activision SUCKS BIGTIME !!! Yea, you block my CPU? Will never buy a Activisiong game again!

amd_athlon_xp

AMD ROCKS ! 😀

… will buy probably a AMD Phenom X4 9950  Black Edition next!

Info about the AMD Athlon XP ban in COD4 – and this is NO bug: http://www.mobclan.com/forums/upload/index.php?s=900cf9941f45609b3727a9ca0bda56da&showtopic=15959&st=15&p=165198&#entry165198

7 Comments

  1. That’s a really annoying problem…. what do you think about the game in general?

  2. I love the game… good old COD style SP with modern story! COOL 😀

  3. Did you ever get it to run COD5? or COD5 beta?

    Is there a similar file fix?

    Thanks,

    JT

  4. No. I had no luck with COD5 😦 Seems it’s much more difficult to get it running on an Athlon XP, but maybe you could request a “crack/patch” in a COD forum.

  5. yeah Athlon XP cpu’s have become redundant now because they lack SSE2 instruction set architecture.
    F
    A
    R
    K
    !

  6. I don’t care! After deleting the little file COD4 runs perfectly. I didn’t have ANY crashes.

  7. Ok ok 🙂 I give up. I will buy the next Wolfenstein (from Activision) 😀


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

